OASH Regional Offices

As the senior federal public health official and scientist in the region, the Regional Health Administrator performs essential functions for the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in three major areas: prevention, preparedness, and agency-wide coordination.  These functions directly and indirectly support the work of the Department and the individual federal agencies. 


Regional map of the United States

  • Region 1
    Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • Region 2
    New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands
  • Region 3
    Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Region 4
    Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee
  • Region 5
    Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin
  • Region 6
    Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Region 7
    Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska
  • Region 8
    Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Region 9
    Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau
  • Region 10
    Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington


Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed