

National Advisory Committee On Rural Health and Human Services



CHAIR: Ronnie Musgrove Jackson, MS

MEMBERS: Kathleen Belanger, PhD Nacogdoches, TX

William Benson Silver Spring, MD

Ty Borders, PhD Lexington, KY

Kathleen Dalton, PhD Chapel Hill, NC

Carolyn Emanuel-McClain, MPH Clearwater, SC

Kelley Evans Red Lodge, MT

Barbara Fabre White Earth, MN

Constance Greer St. Paul, MN

Octavio Martinez, Jr. MD Austin, TX

Carolyn Montoya, PhD, CPNP

Albuquerque, NM

Maria Sallie Poepsel, MSN, PhD, CRNA

Chester Robinson, DPA Jackson, MS

Columbia, MO

Mary Kate Rolf, MBA, FACHE Syracuse, NY

John Sheehan, MBA, CPA Chesterfield, MO

Mary Sheridan, RN, MBA Boise, ID

Benjamin Taylor, PhD, DFAAPA,

PA-C Martinez, GA

Donald Warne, MD Fargo, ND

Peggy Wheeler, MPH Sacramento, CA

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY: Paul Moore, DPh Rockville, MD

Eighty-First Meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services

Hyatt Place Washington DC/National Mall

400 E Street SW Washington DC 87110 (505) 881-6800

Hubert Humphrey Building (HHS Headquarters)

200 Independence Avenue SW Washington, D.C. 20407

April 10th - April 12th, 2017

Monday, April 10th, 2017

Location: Hyatt Place Washington DC/National Mall, Meeting Place 4 & 5

9:00 a.m. Welcome and Introductions

The Honorable Ronnie Musgrove, Chair

9:15 a.m. <u>Meeting Overview and NACRHHS Key Principles</u>

The Honorable Ronnie Musgrove, Chair

9:30 a.m. Review of Past Committee Topics and Recommendations

The Honorable Ronnie Musgrove, Chair

10:00 a.m. <u>Human Services Panel</u>

Denise Harlow

Chief Executive Officer

Community Action Partnership (CAP)

Sandy Markwood

Chief Executive Officer

National Association of Area Agencies (n4a)

Candy Hill

Senior Director, Policy & Government Affairs

American Public Human Services Association (APHSA)

Question and Answer Session

11:30 a.m. Lunch

1:00 p.m. <u>Health Services Panel</u>

Maggie Elehwany, JD

Government Affairs and Policy Vice President National Rural Health Association (NRHA)

John Supplitt

Senior Director

American Hospital Association (AHA)

Bill Finerfrock

Executive Director

National Association of Rural Health Clinics (NARHC)

Question and Answer Session

2:30 p.m. <u>Break</u>

2:45 p.m. <u>State and County Perspectives on Rural Health and Human Service Isssues</u>

Jack Peterson

Associate Legislative Director – Human Services and Education; Veterans and

Military Services Committee Liaison

National Association for Counties (NACo)

Maeghan Gilmore

Program Director, Health and Human Services and Justice

National Association for Counties (NACo)

Lauren Block

Program Director, Health Division

National Governors Association (NGA)

Teryl Eisinger

Executive Director

National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH)

Question and Answer Session

4:15 p.m. <u>Committee Discussion and Overview of Day 2</u>

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Tuesday, April 11th, 2017

Location: Hubert Humphrey Building, Room 405A

9:00am <u>Introductions and Overview of Committee Roles/Responsibilities</u>

The Honorable Ronnie Musgrove, Chair

9:15am Federal Panel #1

Jennifer Burnszynski

Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary and Associate Deputy Assistant Secretary

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

RADM Sarah Linde, MD

Acting Director, Office of Clinical and Preventive Services

Indian Health Service (IHS)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Question and Answer Session

10:15am Break

10:30am Federal Panel #2

Cara James

Director, Office of Minority Health

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Carol Blackford

Director, Hosptial and Ambulatory Policy Group Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Andre Chappel

Director, Division of Public Health Services

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Question and Answer Session

11:30am Committee Discussion

12:00pm <u>Lunch</u>

1:30pm Federal Panel #3

James Macrae

Acting Administrator

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

CDR Karen Hearod, LCSW Regional VI Administrator

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Question and Answer Session

2:30pm Federal Panel #4

Seth Hassett (*Invited*)

Director, Division of Community Assistance, Office of Community Services

Administration for Children and Families (ACF) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Kathleen Votava

Aging Services Program Specialist, Office of Regional Operations Administration for Community Living (ACL) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Question and Answer Session

3:30pm <u>Break</u>

3:45pm <u>Discussion of HHS Priorities</u>

5:00pm <u>Adjourn</u>

Wednesday, April 12th, 2017

Location: Hyatt Place Washington DC/National Mall, Meeting Place 4 & 5

9:00 a.m. <u>HHS Updates and Strategic Planning for Future Meetings</u>

10:00 a.m. <u>Discussion of Next Meeting</u>

10:30am <u>Call for Public Comment</u>

11:00am Adjourn