

National Advisory Committee On Rural Health and Human Services



CHAIR: Ronnie Musgrove Jackson, MS

MEMBERS: Rene S. Cabral-Daniels, MPH, JD Williamsburg, VA

Christina R. Campos, MBA, FACHE Santa Rosa, NM

Eugenia D. Cowan, PhD Sacramento, CA

John Stewart Cullen, MD Valdez, AK

Barbara Fabre White Earth, MN

Phyllis A. Fritsch Dodgeville, WI

Roland J. Gardner, MS Beaufort, SC

David Hartley, PhD, MHA Portland, ME

Thomas E. Hoyer, Jr., MBA Rehoboth Beach, DE

Rehoboth Beach, DE

Wagner, SD Karen Madden, MA

Michele I. Juffer

Albany, NY

Barbara Morrison, MS Council Bluffs, IA

Wayne Myers, MD Waldoboro, ME

Karen R. Perdue Fairbanks, AK

Shane H. Roberts Ronan, MT

Roger Wells, PA-C St. Paul, NE

Christy Green Whitney, RN, MS Grand Junction, CO

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY:

Steven Hirsch, MSLS Rockville, MD Seventy-Sixth Meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services

Holiday Inn Sioux Falls – City Centre

100 West 8th Street Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57104 (605) 339-2000

Avera eHelm

4500 N Lewis Avenue Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57104 (605) 322-4669

September 24-26, 2014

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

8:45 a.m. Welcome and Introductions

The Honorable Ronnie Musgrove, Chair

9:00 a.m. South Dakota Orientation

Kim Gillan

Director, Region VIII

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Denver, Colorado

Michelle Juffer

Member, South Dakota

9:45 a.m. Telehealth Panel – Health System Perspectives

Jesse Tischer

Chief Operating Officer Sanford Health Network Fargo, North Dakota

Deanna Larson

Senior Vice President, Quality & eCare

Avera

Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Question and Answer Session

10:45 a.m. Break

11:15 p.m. <u>Telehealth Panel – Overview and National Perspective</u>

Rashid L. Bashshur, PhD Executive Director of eHealth University of Michigan Health System Ann Arbor, Michigan

Keith Mueller, PhD Director Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis Rural Policy Research Institute Iowa City, Iowa

Question and Answer Session

12:30 p.m. Lunch

2:00 p.m. <u>Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence Panel</u>

Moderator: Jocelyn B. Richgels Associate Director National Policy Programs Rural Policy Research Institute Washington, DC

Marylouise Kelley, PhD
Director
Family Violence Prevention and Services Program
Administration for Children and Families
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

Brenda Hill Native Co-Director South Dakota Coalition Ending Domestic and Sexual Violence Rapid City, South Dakota Suzanne Kramer-Brenna Rural Outreach Specialist Council on Abused Women's Services North Dakota Bismarck, North Dakota

Question and Answer Session

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. <u>Federal Perspectives on Telehealth</u>

Aaron Fischbach
Policy Coordinator
Federal Office of Rural Health Policy
Health Resources and Services Administration
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, Maryland

Tom Klobucar,PhD
Deputy Director
Office of Rural Health
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, DC

Sherilyn Pruitt (Response to Federal Perspectives on Telehealth)
Director
Office for the Advancement of Telehealth
Federal Office of Rural Health Policy
Health Resources and Services Administration
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, Maryland

Question and Answer Session

4:30 p.m. Discussion and Site Visit Assignments

5:00 p.m. Call for Public Comment

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Health Subcommittee 1

8:15 a.m. Health Subcommittee 1 departs for Pipestone, Minnesota

9:30 a.m. <u>Pipestone County Medical Center and Family Clinic Avera</u>

eEmergency and eICU Brad Burris, CEO

1:15 p.m. Good Samaritan Society – Pipestone

Rehabilitation and Skilled Care Center, Senior Living

eLTC

Joshua Hofmeyer, Administrator

3:00 p.m. Subcommittee departs for return to Avera eHelm

Health Subcommittee 2

8:30 a.m. Health Subcommittee 2 departs for Howard, South Dakota

10:00 a.m. Horizon Health Care, Inc., Administration Office

John Mengenhausen, CEO

1:00 p.m. <u>Tour of Howard Community Health Center</u>

2:30 p.m. Subcommittee departs for return to Avera eHelm

Human Services Subcommittee

9:00 a.m. Human Services Subcommittee departs for site visit

9:30 a.m. The Compass Center – Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Patty Brooks, Executive Director

10:30 a.m. Subcommittee departs for return to Avera eHelm

4:00 p.m. Full committee reconvenes at Avera eHelm

5:00 p.m. Committee business

Topics for next field meetings

5:15 p.m. Call for public comment and close of meeting

Friday, September 26, 2014

8:00 a.m Depart for Avera e-Helm

8:30 a.m. Meeting, Discussions

9:00 a.m. Drafting Outline of Policy Briefs

10:00 a.m. Federal Update

Aaron Fischbach Policy Coordinator

Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, HRSA, HSS

Rockville, Maryland

11:00 a.m. Call for Public Comment, Close of Meeting, Departure